Home > Macy's > A Pox on Macy’s

A Pox on Macy’s

Trotted on over to a gold exchange this afternoon expecting to earn a small windfall by selling some old silver and gold.  But instead learned that I’d been duped.

The straight-backed lady examined the goods under a magnifying glass and said that my supposedly gold necklace from Macy’s was none other than silver.

“You’re the third person who’s come in here who thought they bought a gold necklace from Macy’s when it was really silver,” she said.

“It was in the gold section and listed as gold,” the duped customer said.

“Another lady came in here and said that she paid seven-hundred dollars for a gold necklace.  When I looked at it under the magnifying glass, it was stamped with 925, which is the number for silver.  Her face turned red when I told her, but she had the receipt, so she’s going to return it.  I wasn’t going to buy it from her anyway, not under those conditions.”

“I’m going to go to the media,” I said.  “No, I’m going to go to the media and the State’s Attorney’s office.  No, first I’m going to call Macy’s and let them know that I’m going to go to the media and the State’s Attorney’s office.  Then they won’t know who’s who.  Let them sweat.”

She googled their phone number, gave me her card and told me to call her and let her know what happened.

I then called the Fine Jewelry department in Macy’s in Woodland Hills, which was where I bought my supposedly gold piece, and eventually got to the department manager, which took several tries.

“We aren’t responsible for what the public thinks,” she said.

“You really are because you are misleading people.”

“They can always take the things they bought in the store to a jeweler to check them out.”

“But they are buying them from you on good faith.”

“We sell plenty of gold overlay and silver with diamonds that costs seven-hundred dollars.”

“Listen,” I said, “I’m going to go to the State’s Attorney’s Office because I’m not the only one this has happened to, and you have defrauded the public in at least three cases that I know about.”

“If you’d like to come to the store and look around, let me know if I can be of any help,” the Fine Jewelry manager said.

“That’s okay,” I said in closing.  “You’ve done enough already.”

Categories: Macy's Tags:
  1. Susan
    September 23, 2011 at 4:32 pm | #1

    Wow, really? ‘Course, now I’m tempted to check out my ‘gold’ in my jewelry box. Amazing the callous attitude of the Macy’s manager. I completely side with you… it’s a matter of trust. Could you imagine Macy’s in NYC giving such a response? “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus, but his beard is fake, and his belly too.” Or is this the Land of Oz?…”Pay no attention to the silver behind the gold curtain.” I feel a rant coming on [deep breath... count to 10... deep breath]… ughhh.

  2. December 15, 2011 at 3:15 pm | #3

    Holy smokes, that’s really frustrating. I can’t believe that was the best response you could get out of the manager. Sounds like they were definitely trained to say something along those lines… Filthy business.

    • December 15, 2011 at 3:17 pm | #4

      Yes, Brett, and this is why I’ve switched to costume jewelry or no jewelry at all, by way of a boycott.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

